Getting into UX with no creative background? POSSIBLE?

Aloha!
Yes, this will be another one of those “is UX right for me?” threads, so please bear with me. Everyone’s story is a bit different after all. And I would absolutely LOVE some veteran input. Thanks in advance!

So, here’s the story. I turn 30 this year. My background is in social sciences. Until recently I was even considering pursuing a Ph.D. in Cultural Anthropology. Consequently, I’m no stranger to applied research, and I believe this aspect has potential to carry over nicely to the world of UX. I also have work experience in advocacy, customer service, and project management.

Why UX? Ever since I was a kid I liked creative tasks, especially those related to visual arts. Back in high school, I really enjoyed art and drafting classes. I also tinkered with some amateur website design (Flash and Photoshop mostly). In general, tinkering with the look and feel of something (be it a website button or a PowerPoint presentation) allows me to enter into the state of “flow” – hours go by, and I don’t lose focus. I think a job combining research on usability with creative aspects would be really cool.

The BAD. At a gut level I think I can tell good design from bad. However, beyond this amateur appreciation, I have no formal training or professional experience relevant to this field. Sure, I can learn the tools, read up on theory and processes, work on my portfolio, and maybe even enroll in an online boot camp. BUT, will that be enough to land a job? Will I get hired without proper experience and/or design-relevant degrees or certificates?