Front-end to UX - how to develop research skills

Hey everyone! So I am a front-end dev looking at going into UX design as I really want to interact with people more and do research! Find out why they are doing things and how I can translate that into better products! Anyway, I have design skills and HTML/CSS skills, but I am really lacking in the whole user testing, conducting research department. Plus, without that bit of experience and therefore, confidence, approaching my boss and the company to try some of these things out is a bit of a big ask I think.

Any tips on how I can develop these skills? Things I should be reading and doing?

2 Likes

Usability Testing is actually pretty easy to get a hang of. I’d recommend reading Usability.gov’s article on usability testing.

I think the only way of developing your research skills is by conducting research! Nielsen Norman Group and Usability.gov have a plethora of information and very useful templates. (Equipment checklists, consent forms, etc)

Edit: Just searching Usability Testing on google and reading the articles + watching videos should inform you plenty :slight_smile:

1 Like

As a former front-end dev, I recommend also reading up and learning analytics as well.

1 Like

You can read and prepare all you want, but there’s no substitute for experience. You’re using a totally different set of skills to front end dev, so like a muscle, u need to work on these skills. Your first few sessions might go catastrophically bad, and that’s ok, so long as you keep trying and learning, you’ll be ok.

Now having said that, here’s a few things to try

• watch YouTube videos and listen to podcasts on ux experts conducting interviews. Steve krug has some good ones
  • read books on usability testing and asking the right interview questions. The books by tomer Sharon and Steve portigal I’ve found useful
  • attend local ux meetups/workshops for learning and networking to see how others do it