Feedback on this form-validation

Hi,

Could someone please give me some thoughts/opinion/feedback on this concept for form validation?

The animated gif below shows me testing it by clicking on the Send button without filling in any of the fields beforehand.

Please let me know if this animated gif mockup doesn’t play.
form-validation

Many thanks

Are you asking about the phrasing you’ve used, or about something more design-like?

I was wondering if the placement of error messages / the fact that the field-labels turn into the corresponding error messages is something that would be ill-advised…but I am indeed also welcoming thoughts on the wording used for the error messages too.

1 Like

As a designer, I like this approach. But here are a few of the trickier issues I’ve had to work with in form design that might change your pattern.

1. Filled fields

Your example shows 3 empty fields. But that’s an edge case. You’re more likely to be generating error messages for filled fields (e.g. user enters an incorrect email address). Will this design pattern work as well when the fields already have text entered?

1. Long forms

Your animation shows the submit button and error fields all nicely presented together. But real forms rarely work like this. What if there are 10 fields and I fill in the first and tenth wrong? I scroll down to the Send button and press it. How are you going to show me that fields 1 and 10 are wrong? Scroll back up to the top of the page and show a ‘There a 2 errors’ message? Show this message by the button? And I won’t see the animation because it’ll be off the page…

1. Javascript disabled

These effects where 1 message is replaced by another with a nice animation rely on Javascript. What if I have Javascript disabled? What if I’m using a screen reader? Will your error messages ‘fall back’ gracefully so that I can still use the form?

Fun and games! :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Hey Michael,

Thank you for getting involved. Great points too!