Feedback on Portfolio Website

portfolio
ux

Dear All,

I am a MSc HCID student with a lot of industry experience in marketing research. I have recently set-up my website to be able to showcase my portfolio and I am keen to get some feedback from experts in this industry like yourself. Would you be able to spare a couple of minute to have a look at my Portfolio website and give me some recommendations to enhance it please? It is niteshbali.com.

Many thanks,

Nick

Hey Nick,

Couple of things I observed:

1. Your site’s logo looks beautiful but on the title bar it looks like the icon when the page is still loading. Could be confusing for some people.
  2. Typo in the headline - "User Experience Researcher"
    I think this sentence should be rephrased. Not able to clearly understand what you are trying to convey - “I have extensive experience in project managing full scope marketing research projects using different methodologies.”
  3. These days most designers have a single page portfolio. While the homepage tells who you are, users are not navigated to your work immediately.
  4. The portfolio section has just images and no details about the process. Also the images are small and cannot be expanded.
  5. Resume is password protected. I don’t think there is any harm in putting up a resume online. Especially if a recruiter were to come across your site, they would return empty handed.
  6. The blog posts can be a bit more detailed about and use a bit of formatting love :wink:
    The calendar does not do anything. What is the purpose?

Here are a couple of good portfolio sites for reference. Good luck!
http://christinejoonchun.com
http://jeongsteph.com/
http://kevinclark.ca/

Thank you very much, this is extremely helpful.

Kind regards,

Nick

Hey there,
Welcome! :slight_smile:

My observations.

• First up, your site is beautiful. Well done.