Feedback on portfolio (case studies and resume)

Hey all,

I am looking for a UX community to bounce around my ideas and exchange feedback, and I think I found the place! I just finished my UX portfolio as I am looking to transition into the UX field full-time. I am completely self taught and have experience in graphic design and front-end web development as well (CSS3, HTML5), and am willing to learn and learn quickly. Here is my portfolio along with my resume:

http://amirkhan.co

1 Like

Hey Amir,
Welcome! Great to have you here.

Iā€™m happy to give some feedback.

• The first thing I noticed was the rainbow coloured words, which I find a bit hard to read. I can see what youā€™re hoping to achieve, but Iā€™m not sure that itā€™s working to full affect.
  • Your case studies are great ā€“ they are well documented and easy to follow. They would benefit from a light English edit as there are a few grammatical errors.
  • I love the ā€˜lessons learnedā€™ section.

Thanks HAWK! I redid the colors to make them easier on the eyes. Iā€™ll have to go over the case studies again now that Iā€™m done writing the code. What do you think about the design? Half the people Iā€™ve talked to like it and the other half donā€™t because it doesnā€™t show off front-end development skillsā€¦

I agree with this but theoretically that shouldnā€™t be important for a UX role. Demonstrating your process is more important.

It would be good to get @inca431ā€™s thoughts on this. By her own admission UI design isnā€™t her strength. What is your advice re portfolios and communicating strengths Chris?

Hey @amirkhan3
Saw your site and loved a couple of things right away:

1. The logo shows yours personal style
  2. Resume is well written
  3. Links to email id and phone number launch corresponding apps :thumbsup:
  4. The left pane of the site remains static on all pages making it easy to navigate back.

As @HAWK mentioned, the gradients in the text color do make it a bit tough to read.