Feedback on portfolio (case studies and resume)

Hey all,

I am looking for a UX community to bounce around my ideas and exchange feedback, and I think I found the place! I just finished my UX portfolio as I am looking to transition into the UX field full-time. I am completely self taught and have experience in graphic design and front-end web development as well (CSS3, HTML5), and am willing to learn and learn quickly. Here is my portfolio along with my resume:

http://amirkhan.co

Hey Amir,
Welcome! Great to have you here.

I’m happy to give some feedback.

• The first thing I noticed was the rainbow coloured words, which I find a bit hard to read. I can see what you’re hoping to achieve, but I’m not sure that it’s working to full affect.
  • Your case studies are great – they are well documented and easy to follow. They would benefit from a light English edit as there are a few grammatical errors.
  • I love the ‘lessons learned’ section.

Thanks HAWK! I redid the colors to make them easier on the eyes. I’ll have to go over the case studies again now that I’m done writing the code. What do you think about the design? Half the people I’ve talked to like it and the other half don’t because it doesn’t show off front-end development skills…

I agree with this but theoretically that shouldn’t be important for a UX role. Demonstrating your process is more important.

It would be good to get @inca431’s thoughts on this. By her own admission UI design isn’t her strength. What is your advice re portfolios and communicating strengths Chris?

Hey @amirkhan3
Saw your site and loved a couple of things right away:

1. The logo shows yours personal style
  2. Resume is well written
  3. Links to email id and phone number launch corresponding apps :thumbsup:
  4. The left pane of the site remains static on all pages making it easy to navigate back.

As @HAWK mentioned, the gradients in the text color do make it a bit tough to read.
Otherwise, quite a good site you have there.