Copyright and infringement risk?

Hi

Not quite sure where to ask this, but this section seems close?

If you are building your 1st portfolio, and for example, want to recreate the journey of a app/website, send an email to the company to let them know if they don’t have your permission to do so please respond… and credit the website/app in the portflio, as well as removing the company name on the wireframes etc… is that fine?

I’ve asked for permission before and got no response so was thinking this method might be easier.

Thanks,

I retracted this post because @dougcollins gave a much better reply below.

2 Likes

I’m going to write this from the perspective of US law, as that’s what I know most about. @experiencethis, if you’re located outside the US, please let us know so that we can work to find a community member with experience or knowledge in your neck of the woods.

Alright, the usual disclosures: I am not a lawyer, this is not legal advice. This is my personal understanding of Intellectual Properly (IP) fair use law. If you really want to know the answer, consult with an IP lawyer.

The concept of fair use in the United States is paramount in IP. Fair use is defined as “any copying of copyrighted material done for a limited and ‘transformative’ purpose, such as to comment upon, criticize, or parody a copyrighted work.”

Judges usually consider four factors when considering fair use cases:

1. The purpose and character of your use
2. The nature of the copyrighted work
3. The amount and substantiality of the portion taken, and
4. The effect of the use upon the potential market.

Let’s take a quick look at each of these individual factors.

##The purpose and character of your use