Client Interview: "...Look everything is fine. We just want a new website."

Hey Everyone!

Currently I’m re-designing a website for a non-profit as a portfolio piece and I’m running into a road-block during initial client interviews that I’ve come to before.

You may have come across this; the client seems convinced there is nothing wrong with the business and nowhere to improve. You are just there to “make the website modern.” I feel the right thing to do is to stay skeptical and poking around for client problems. I’ve recently sent an e-mail requesting they outline three short and long term goals for the business to help with this.

As an aspiring web developer I have a few questions:

• Are there any resources/tools you might recommend to help identify business goals?
  • Is this a common road block dealing with clients?

Thank you all!

1 Like

I faced this when I was working as a freelance web developer.
Sometimes clients just don’t want to listen to your opinion.
They are very much like “I’m paying you to specifically do X, so do it”.

Here is how I used to go about it:

• I try to understand how their business works. They are willing to divulge information if you explain how it’ll help you improve their website.
  • With this in mind, I Google similar websites and generate my own reports or notes. I write both the good and the bad stuff.
  • I present an initial prototype made quickly with Photoshop and get it approved. The approval rate was about 60 to 70%. The others just wouldn’t agree. So its fairly common.

There were scenarios where people wanted their entire website to be Blue or Black, because the owner likes it.
I cringed at the outcome, but sometimes there is just no getting through to people.

3 Likes