Choose a subscription, and then what?

This registration process that I am setting up is turning out to be a real challenge!

In another thread, I explained that I am building a website which sells paid memberships for premium content. The registration process I have so far is this…

Step 1: Create Account
Step 2: Activate Account
Step 3: Sign TOS
Step 4: Make Payment

Unfortunately, I have to add a little more onto the front end for this to make sense to people, and I’m unsure of how to do this.

Why do I say this?

Well, first of all, before anyone is going to agree to sign up for a subscription, they need to know what they are buying!!

In addition, it was always my plan to add a “splash page” which briefly explains to people why my registration process is a little more complicated.

That being said, this is what I was envisioning…

• In the mast of every page I have a Login link and a “Subscribe” button.
  • The user clicks on “Subscribe”
  • I display a 3-pane page showing the different subscription types…
  • a.) Basic Access
  • b.) Premium Access
  • c.) Premium Access + Free eBook
  • The user choose a subscription plan and chooses “Next” (or something like that)
  • I display a simple page basically saying, “Hey, we need to verify your email and get you to sgn the TOS because we are trying to build a professional online nevironment where people respect one another…”
  • The user clicks “Continue registration”
  • And then my 4 steps above would kick in.

I don’t think adding the two additional pages is too bad, but here is where I am more concerned…

If you choose the “Basic” or “Premium” subscriptions, you click a button and then it’s off to the “Disclaimer” page.

But if you choose “Premium + Free eBook”, then I need to take you - at the very least - to a page showing you a catalog of all eBook available. And then once you choose your free eBook, then I have to take you to the “Disclaimer” page…

Does that make sense?