Career has hit a brick wall + Struggling to relocate due to visa barrier = Please help!

Hi UXMastery community,

I’m struggling to relocate to the city I want to live in (Melbourne) due to visa barriers (I’m a US Citizen who either needs employer sponsorship or a skilled occupation visa) and feel like my career has hit a brick wall. I’ve been applying to UX jobs for the past 2 years and haven’t had a single in-person interview; though I have had several phone calls and at times think I was only rejected either for not residing in San Francisco where the job was or because there was a more experienced candidate.

I have 4 years of experience as a UX/UI designer and an additional year of professional experience on top of that. I’m currently employed but not growing in my career at all and my compensation doesn’t match my expectations either. You can view my portfolio at LeoVogel.com

Below are the details of my current state and goal state. Things I currently do: read design books, attend UX MeetUps, read design blogs, listen to design podcasts, take UX courses on Interaction-Design.org and Lynda.com, and attend an annual UX conference. For financial and time reasons, taking a General Assembly course is not something I’m currently able to undertake.

My current conclusion is that I should move to San Francisco despite the increased cost of living to try to open up more job opportunities. I’m looking for input from the community.

Thoughts?

-Leo

CURRENT SITUATION
Job: mix of UI design, Interaction design, front-end HTML+CSS+very light JavaScript with much Googling, and trying to apply UX/HCD principles and methodologies with very little support/buy-in from management
Employer: small company that operates much like a startup
Office: Remote from a co-working space
Number of UX designers: just me
Feeling: isolated and stuck

GOAL
Job: working in a designer role
Employer: agency
Office: Melbourne
Number of UX designers: several/many