Beginner in UI/UX

Hello everyone,

I am very new to this community and to UI/UX. I have recently developed interest in ui/ux and I am confused about where to start.

I am a community manager who has very little Experience in using PS, Illustrator. As a beginner what should I be doing?

Thank you in advance.

Hi, I’m also new to this community :slight_smile: But not to UX, so I can tell you a bit about that. When you’re new to a field (most fields), often the first steps are roughly:

1. Obtain a broad overview of the field and look for good resources, in this case e.g. look up the post “Brand new to UX? Here’s everything you need in one place!” on this community (I’m new here so unable to post a link)
  2. Use those resources to figure out what knowledge gaps you have, follow some specific courses to improve your knowledge, and/or do a general course to understand the UX field. You indicate that you have little experience with Adobe design tools, but those tools are often used in a much later stage of the design process. Maybe check out Google’s UX design certificate.
  3. Learn from others in communities such as this one. There are also communities on Slack, LinkedIn, Reddit, etc.
  4. And in UX design building a portfolio is important. Once you understand the field and have learned a bit about the UX design process look for projects to do some UX work (at your job or volunteering).
1 Like

I wanted to post same request but reading your response gave me the answers I needed…Thanks so so much. Nice write

Hello Varu,
UX designers to become true professionals should constantly follow up the trends, analyze market players’ decisions.

To stay updated I would recommend joining:

• the relevant Twitter account posting the news and sharing the opinions
  • the forums like UX Mastery to ask the questions that are important for you