Any remote UX consultants in here?

Are there any remote UX designers or consultants here that have been doing it for a while? i’d really love to know more about how you got there, what it takes, and what it’s like!?

3 Likes

I kinda fit that bill. I’m a remote contractor, but I work 2 permanent contracts, for both of which only a portion of the work is UX.

My job here at UXMastery is primarily Community Management with some UX thrown in, and my main job at Discourse is as a software designer, which consists of UX work and project management.

I don’t have to keep finding new contracts, which is fantastic. I’m only a contractor for tax purposes because both jobs are offshore.

I’m happy to answer any questions you have.

Thanks Hawk.
Well, I guess I could tart with, how did you find the remote work and how do you find it working remotely?

In both cases I was headhunted by people that already knew me by reputation. I cannot stress enough how important that is. It’s all about networking and getting your name out. I did a talk on this topic recently. The slides are here. It was more focussed on Community Management than UX but the principals are the same.

I love it. I’ve been doing it for 10 years now and it suits me well. I start work at 5am (it’s easy if you can work in your pjs) and finish at 3pm so I can be with my kids. I work part time at the gym so that I see people every day and stay fit – it’s easy to fall into bad habits if you’re home all day. You need to be very disciplined to work remotely – either so you don’t slack off or so that you know when to switch off, depending on what kind of person you are.

2 Likes

I love to hear this. This is why I believe it suits my personality and work habits. Im really disciplined and prefer to use the transit time or the times I dont use efficiently at location on things more worthwhile.
Do you think it takes certain amount of time / projects before you could start pitching to remote clients?