After my boss told me to be less emotional as a designer, I realized it was actually a strength

The Emotional Designer

At work recently, it was suggested to me that in my next presentation I should try to use less emotional words and concepts. It reminded me that in general, most people believe that all artists and designers are overly emotional. We use words like “feelings” and “love”. And the same people have convinced us that being too emotional is a weakness.

I had always been bothered that I was too emotional. Cheesey movies made me weepy. Heartfelt lyrics made me cry. I could hide it most of the time but it would feel embarrassing. While discussing this very same topic with my good friend and incredible UX designer, he explained it all to me.

This weakness was actually a gift. He said, As a designer, I use my “weakness” to connect with people. It’s a unique gift that allows me to place my self in the shoes of others to understand their plight or problems and allows me to design solutions to quickly and elegantly solve their problems.

He’s right. Immediately I felt empowered. I felt pity that those around me couldn’t connect the way that we, the designer, can. That they didn’t have the weakness that we have.

1 Like

This makes me sad and happy all at once!

I hate that someone told you to be less emotional. Part of being passionate about what you do involves emotion, if you aren’t emotional about what you do then you don’t care! It’s known that designers can be a bit fiery, it’s part of us. I’ve had full-on arguments with stakeholders in the past because my emotions have got the better of me (I’m better at controlling that side now!)

I love that your friend gave you better information (he sounds awesome!!)