Advice on getting back into a UX role

Hello everyone! I am looking to get back into a UX role and would love some advice.

Just for some background, I have about 15 years or so of total career experience (about 5 of that in a UX role). I started off my career in the field of Training as an eLearning developer creating web-based content, and then transitioned to a role as a UX designer for a Financial Services company. I was in that UX role for about 5 years and really enjoyed it.

I was presented with the opportunity to work remote for a Big Data startup, but in a role back in training, so I decided to take it and I haven’t been in a UX role for over 5 years now.

Lately I’ve really started to miss being a UX designer, I prefer the role much more than my current role.

Although I have past experience, I know that a big 5 year gap in employment since the last time I was in a UX role isn’t going to be appealing to employers. It also doesn’t help that I don’t have anything current to put in a portfolio.

In addition, I realize that a lot has changed in the world of UX in the past 5 years. I have however been trying to do a good job with keeping up with what is going on in the world of UX by reading blogs and experimenting with the latest tools, and also trying to keep my HTML/CSS skills fresh, but it’s still not the same as working in a full time UX role of course.

Any advice on how I might be able to find my way back? Should I take some classes? What does everyone think of certificate programs such as the one below, are they just a waste of time and money?

Thanks for any advice!

Im here with you mate.

20 years managing software projects, business analysis (from business case to UX to UI to Requirements Documents etc) to making writing tests cases that test the usability of a use case etc, right down to designing the usbability of a Database Schema for a product.

Id presume at some stage you would have worked as a BA or similar if in large companies?