Accessibility assistance required

Hi

We have recently had a lady tell us that our web app is hard to use for her as she is blind and uses the built in iPhone ‘VoiceOver’ functionality to navigate around. I turned this on and tried to use the site myself, I found a few obvious issues and know how to fix these however there are some aspects I am not sure how I could make it better for her without completely ruining the user experience, and design, for our non-visually impaired users.

Our app is built using quite old technology, but our front end uses Bootstrap, and semantic HTML5. I am very new to making websites accessible and am very much learning as I’m going along. I thought that by writing HTML semantically, and using bootstrap built in classes and ARIA attributes that the site would be fully accessible.

I have also run the site through WAVE and there were no issues reported there.

Does anyone have any advice for me, things to look out for, better ways to test the site etc.

Thanks in advance

hi @jacquidow
for my understanding is your app:

• a native one
  • a hybrid app (html framed in a native container/viewer)
  • a responsive website

Hi, it’s none of the above!

It’s web app made of a mixture of .net 1.1, .net 4.0 pages. We have used the bootstrap framework for the UI.There is also heavy use of Javascript on many of the pages.

Does this help?

1 Like

Interesting!

I guess the app can also be executed in desktop environment inside the environment in which it is developed, so there are tools that could be used as well (for instance, tools to check the color contrast, and so on) and also other supporting technologies like screen readers (we use Jaws http://www.freedomscientific.com/Products/Blindness/JAWS).

The pain point is that such tools only check stuff that a machine can detect.
In my experience is always needed a human to check what the machine cannot do.