A Little Direction

I’m really very new to the world of moving towards a UX career though I’ve surprisingly found that I’ve done UX at times without even knowing it. I have become obsessed in the last week about it as it’s super exciting to me and I actually have a good opportunity at my current job to put it into practice and potentially start building my portfolio already. One of the branded websites needs a total redesign.

A few months ago my manager and I corralled the whole office to give feedback on the website. In a way we did some usability testing already. I kept all the notes from that research and have compiled a list of “problems” to solve with the redesign. I have then started white boarding with stickies the current navigation of all the products our company has to sell.

It has room for a ton of improvement as you might be able to tell. I’ve placed the other linking sections of the website off to the side for now as I’ll have to revisit how to integrate those into the overall map (I have ideas, but I’m trying to start basic).

My question is if my process so far is looking right or if I’m jumping too far ahead too soon, etc. I just want to make sure I’m on the right track and maybe know what would be the suggested next step. I haven’t done the card sorting technique with the products to see where people lean towards categorizing…so maybe that should be next?

Any advice at all is super helpful!

1 Like

Any kind of research / testing is always a great step. UX is not always so linear so you could be doing anything at anytime there’s no right or wrong. I like how you have problems to solve on the left hand, they seem mostly content / usability related. Just trying to understand the right hand side, as it looks like you’re card sorting and improving navigation. How do you think these two can work together? What are you aiming to do with left hand and right hand (sorry if I didn’t understand your Q well)

1 Like