What is it like to work in UX and how did you get there?

Hello UX Mastery,

My name is Allison and I am a student at the University of Waterloo in Ontario Canada. I am writing a paper on User Experience Design. I am currently in a program that will hopefully give me the stepping stones to become a UX designer and I had I few questions to ask you about what UX is like as a profession.

1. How did you personally get involved in User Experience Design?
  2. How long have you been a UX designer?
  3. Where did you attend school?
  4. In your opinion, what is your favourite part of your job?
  5. Who is someone you admire in the UX field?
  6. How do you balance the goal of the end user with those of the business?
  7. Have there been rough moments in your career path to get to where you are now?
  8. If you could improve UX on any site which would it be and why?
  9. What’s the work environment like as a UX designer?

Sincerely,
Allison Brown

3 Likes

Hi Allison,
Its interesting that you’re writing a paper on the subject.

Here are my responses to the questions:

How did you personally get involved in User Experience Design?
At a previous job as an application developer, I was left to come up with a product and develop it. Googling on how to do things got me started on the path of UX.

How long have you been a UX designer?
I’ve been a UX Designer for about 3 years.

Where did you attend school?
I currently go to Indiana University for MS in HCI.

In your opinion, what is your favourite part of your job?
My favorite part is brainstorming and design (the stuff that is after user research).

Who is someone you admire in the UX field?
There are many people. Don Norman, Jacob Nielsen, and lots of folks who I discovered through Medium.

How do you balance the goal of the end user with those of the business?
For me, there is no specific answer other than it depends. One thing that is common is to have a thorough understanding of user needs and business goals.