UX Workflow for redesign of large e-commerce website?

Hi.

I am a UX designer at a creative agency and have been for the past 2 years.

I am about to start a project for a large online commerce site and I wanted to know the recommended process for undergoing this project. I have never been been involved of a project of this scale in terms of the amount of planning, data and research that will occur up-front. As it’s a pretty big client, the workflow will also have to be pretty standardised in terms of how this sort of project would be handled by other UXers.

I want to know how other UX creatives would tackle this problem?

So initially, I was thinking of conducting a discovery phase, whereby we obtain stakeholder interviews and competitor analysis etc and a whole bank of useful research. Basically working out why the site is failing and then using this as rationale for the UX design choices. I would also look at what the commerce market looks like at the moment in terms of cutting edge UX (mobile payments etc) and usability.

After this I would then go into the UX phase and create a set of heavily annotated wireframes.

Obviously I am only loosely touching on this. But thats how I’d naturally start the project anyway. Chances are there is a better way to do this or a process hat is more recognised and fluent in the creative industry.

Any thoughts?

Thanks.

Hi Lewis

Welcome to the community. I feel like you’re in the position that I was in 10 years ago when I was lead designer on a new project and didn’t know the best place to start. Good on you for reaching out! It’s exactly what I did, and resulted in my process improving immensely.

We’ve written quite a bit about process on the site that should be useful for you. In particular, you should go read the article on UX process and have a look through our [URL=“http://uxmastery.com/resources/techniques/”]Techniques Bank.