UX specification best practices - how to add annotations

Dear UXers,

I am a junior UX designer who is struggling with spec :D. After I’ve been working at this startup for 4 months and watching/doing so hard our UX specification documentation progress, I decided to discover what other solutions there are for this problem.

I thought I will write a bit about our process, to let you know our situations and tools which we are using, after that I will put my questions regarding the solutions.

So basically after apps were designed in Sketch, we upload them to InVision and there we give feedback to each other. After this, we send the InVision link to client, so they are able to give feedback as well. Specifications are written into a Google doc and sent to client and devs. But unfortunately they are so havy and long, that neither our devs, neither our clients don’t want to waste their time with reading it.

So the ideal solution for this situation would be a separate document which is not too long, compatible with mobile (I know that Axure has some which could resolve this problem, but that is not mobile specific), and that would be nice as well to be linkable to invision/sketch.

if not, just try to write about your process of writing specifications.

Thanks in advance,
Andrea

Hi Andrea,
Are you prototyping all states of every screen into InVision and annotating them as needed inside the tool? That could reduce or possibly even eliminate the need for a heavy specifications doc. Hope that helps!

2 Likes

@maryshaw Do you think that it might behoove @andrea and her team to start soliciting feedback from the rest of the team earlier in the design process? My thinking is that if the team can catch and cure any potential issues earlier, it will eliminate the need for much of the bulk in their documentation. I’m curious to hear your thoughts.

I’m working as a UX Engineer at a startup too, and we have a very lean spec system.