User Story Mapping vs. User Experience Mapping

Hello folks,

I’m Abdus, a Product Designer based out of London. I have an Engineering background but turned to design following my passion. As a self-taught designer, I’m constantly looking to improve and learn from the community. More recently, I have started to focus upon perfecting my design processes and the way they impact my final visual designs.

Apologies if this has already been asked before, but I’m struggling with distinguishing ‘user story mapping’ and ‘user experience mapping’. While going through Megan Grocki’s explanation of a customer journey map, it almost felt the journey itself is basically a consolidation of a feature set in the product, similar to Jeff Patton’s book on User Story Mapping. So I was wondering if there is a difference between the two?

Secondly, while working on an experience/journey map, what are the outcomes we are trying to achieve? Say we are in the middle of revamping our product; should we plan a future experience or map out an existing one, or aim for an ideal one? I ask this because a future experience could be unknown and would need to be validated by even more research (qualitative and quantitative, resource dependent).

Any pointers/thoughts would be appreciated.
Cheers!

Hmmm, I’m not sure that there is a difference. I’m going to call @ruth in for her thoughts.

Hi Abdus
I tend to think of the difference between the two as a matter of granularity - user experience mapping is the mapping of the experience that users go through when using your product/s or service (it’s about the big picture).
The user story map are the set of functions/features/tasks for that product (it’s about the smaller picture).