Uncommon UX Specialties

I’m beginning to work on my first book-length UX writing project, and I’m looking for some help.

In the book, I’m planning on examining some less-discussed UX specialties, looking for research, experts, best practices, and practical considerations for each. I’d like each discipline to be it’s own chapter-length topic. My goal is to help build a knowledge base on some of these topics, and to give professionals an idea of some interesting niches they might want to get involved with.

Right now, I’m just beginning my research. I’ve nailed down these different types of UX for research so far:

• Childhood
  • Senior (age 65+)
  • “Adult Content” sites
  • Accessibility
  • Intranet/Corporate Wikis/Blogs
  • Dark Patterns
  • 10 foot design
  • Interactive Digital Signage
  • Self-Driving Automotive UX
  • Virtual Reality (VR)
  • Augmented Reality (AR)
  • Artificial Intelligence (AI)
  • Online Gambling
  • Gaming UX/Gamification of UX
  • Dark Web
  • Email
  • UX… In… SPAAAACE! (Space/Aviation UX)
  • Phyiscal UX
  • UX Strategy
  • Healthcare UX

Some questions I’m trying to get answered:

1.) Are there any specialties not listed that you’d like to see discussed?
2.) Are any of the listed specialties too “mainstream” to fit in a book about odd UX niches?
3.) Do you know of any good research or practitioners of any of the above specialties that might be helpful for my project?

Any help I could get would be greatly appreciated! I’m hoping to share my progress here as we go, and possibly start a podcast around the subject of UX niches.

Thanks everyone - y’all rock!

I’m editing this post as we go to include suggestions from the community below.

6 Likes

Nice on Doug. This looks super interesting. I’ll put out a call on Twitter for you.

1 Like

I don’t know is it relevant - “an ux audit on darknet websites”. Sounds crazy.
once I planned to do it, later dropped.

1 Like