Suggestions for a user after a form submission. Good or Bad?

I can not find anything on the web to help support my thinking. Does anyone have any thoughts or articles about suggesting places for a user to go after they have submitted a form? i.e. Thanks for contacting us, while you wait check out these blog post we thought you might like. Any thoughts from UX pros would be greatly appreciated : ) Thank you

Hi Katie,

Welcome to UXMastery!

Is your question whether it’s a good idea, or is it something you’re trying to figure out what to do?

I think I am mostly trying to figure out if its best UX practices to keep the user looping your site. Especially on what I consider a “dead end” like the thank you form submission. So yes! Is it a good idea to add suggestions to a user after the form submission? And thank you for your quick reponse, this is my first time using this forum.

2 Likes

You’re welcome. While we wait for our subject matter experts to join the conversation, here are my thoughts.

As a user, I would only want to get looped back directly to the site if there were something genuinely interesting or new there that I may not have noticed otherwise.

As a user, I wouldn’t object to getting a relevant cartoon or a meme thanking me - but that depends on the tone of your site. I think that I’d be put off by a cartoon from a financial site.

3 Likes

I think the idea is fine, it’s the execution that will make the experience a good or bad one.

I’d be fine if I got a thanks and then an inconspicuous “hey, have you seen these?” provided I could easily find my way out or to what I was trying to find.

1 Like

Hi @katiemdavis4
I believe that in your sentence there are two points to flesh out.