Starting a career in UX field

Hi
Looking for some advices desperately. My background and working experience is holding me back from challenging myself into this new field.

-I studied fashion and am familiar with photoshop, illustrator, indesign;
I did some freelance graphic design. I enjoyed it very much.
-Have 3 years of work experience as a meditation instructor;
You have to constantly study what people need. What problems they have, how to find solution.

I want to start a new career in UX field because I find the meaning that I create something for people’s satisfaction, for their “good experience”.
I was thinking of going to UI/UX field through the web design solution.
I realized though, UX field is actually broad and I wouldn’t like to be end up in just web design field.
My concern is, I’m in my late 20s. I heard that work condition could be very tough if you are a newbee.
The best I could do now is making my portfolio that is focused on more of UI design and it will time consuming, cost consuming as well. (Thinking of taking courses)

A. How’s the actual work environment like? Work schedule on daily basis? Handling tasks in work?

B. Would my background be a disadvantage in getting into the field?
(A lot of people in UX field have industrial design major, visual art major or computer science major…that’s what I found…)

C. Is there any advice on what I can do otherwise then just making UI portfolio considering my career path?
(I wanna do more then just web design in the future)

D. Somebody told me design agency is the best first step since you will be exposed many kinds of design projects. But also, working condition is very poor and many people choose it just
for the resume when they switch the job into different company. Could you tell me few options I can look for when I set up my goal?

Hi Alison,
Welcome to the community. :slight_smile: