Start UX as freelancer?

Hello,

I work as a freelancer in the film industry.
Now I decided to learn UX Design.
I have to mention that I’m already 41 years old.
Now I have some questions:

1.) Do you think it is possible to get started in UXD as a freelancer (after finishing my 6 month course in UXD)?
Or is it better to work for 1-2 years in a company to learn all the UX stuff?
Surly I am too old for an internship or to work without getting paid (kids, house …)

2.) Do you think it is difficult to get a job because of my age?

3.) I am also intersted in motion design for video. Does it make sense to work as UX Designer and Motion Designer
(i.e. for corporate videos) as well?

Thank you very much for your answers!!! :wink:

Marc

1 Like

Hey Marc,
Welcome. Glad you’re here.

1. I imagine it depends on where you live and how connected you are. If your existing network or reputation are strong enough then you could potentially leverage that to get work, but freelancing is hard and there is no guarantee of income with as you mention can put a strain on things when you have financial commitments. Are you in a position to continue freelancing in your current field and then supplement that with UX work when you get it? That might be good middle ground.

2. I’m 43 and I have 3 jobs. I started in this field 7 years ago. :slight_smile: We discussed this a while back – there were a variety of opinions. Here you go: Do agencies hire 50+ yr. old designers?

3. @Lukcha will be able to speak to this. HIs background is in film.

3 Likes

Hey Marc, good questions. :slight_smile: