Soon to be psych graduate with no formal work experience wondering how to get into UX Design

Hey everyone,

Like the title says, I’m about to graduate with a bachelors in psychology (minoring in anthropology). I have no formal experience in anything regarding tech (design, development, coding, etc), nor business or marketing. I first heard about UXD a little more than a week ago, and what grabbed me was the user research aspect. People are fascinating to me, and I fell in love with the notion of researching and advocating for the user.

Since discovering UXD, I’ve been researching the heck out of it, watching videos, reading blogs, and I even started reading Steve Krug’s Don’t Make Me Think. I’m going to get David Travis’s Udemy course, and I was checking into the General Assembly UX design bootcamp.

Here’s the problem. Everywhere I turn, it seems as though everything is geared towards:

• Either people in a similar field (graphic design, front-end development, etc)

• People who are transitioning from an unrelated career, and/or

• People with a masters or PhD in something (I’ve seen a lot of people with PhD’s in psychology)

On top of that, I read somewhere (I forgot where) that looking to get a UXD career with no experience in another career is like trying to test for a black belt without knowing the first thing about karate.

I was reading an article on this site (Why A Career In UX Design Has A Low Barrier Of Entry… Sort Of). It was talking about how UXD jobs for recent graduates don’t exist, and that you need to instead get a job that gets you close to the field… like a software tester, project assistant, intern visual designer, etc.