Should I give up pursuing a career in UX if I'm an introvert?

Hi, I have been a lurker here for a while. Recently I have been questioning my aspiration to become a UX designer. Just a little background, I’ve been working as a front-end developer for the past 10 years and looking to possibly change careers over to UX. I’m really interested in helping people and companies improve the usability of their products and services. Personality wise I lean towards introversion but have no problem talking about subjects that interest/excite me. Rarely have I had to make big presentations or talk to external clients. I’ve seen a few blog posts on various sites emphasizing you must have serious communication skills if you want to become a UX designer. My question is should I let my introversion stop me from pursuing a career in UX? Does one have to be a master communicator to become a UX designer or were these posts just written by extroverts? I stumbled upon this old article on Smashing Magazine about introverts and UX: https://www.smashingmagazine.com/201…esign-process/ which gave me some hope.

2 Likes

Hi, UX Dude. I don’t think the extroversion as you describe it above is specific to a UX role. Most of the businesses expect from their employees to communicate, talk in meetings etc. Since I see that you’re living in NYC, that’s a potential disadvantage because US is considered to be a very extroverted country, whereas they would leave you completely alone if you would be living in, say, Finland. However, even in the most extroverted places people are becoming aware that introverts are lurking among them. If you manage to find a company where you wouldn’t be the only UX designer, you might be able to split the work so you would do more of the private work and another person would do more of the talking. As the article you linked says, all types of profiles are needed in this field.