Retrospective UX?

So, I’m working on a project at the moment, the requirements were written and handed straight to developers. I am now having to retrospectively apply UX and redesign parts of the software. I feel like I’m fighting an uphill battle with it as the development is ongoing as I’m trying to design and test and research! Does anyone have any advice?

2 Likes

The same thing happened at my work many times. I work as a UX engineer, and deal with researchers, designers and developers.
I work with UX designers and come up with UX recommendations, while giving them an idea of what might be harder to implement. So most of the difficult-to-change stuff is out of the way.
Then I have the designers and developers sit in a meeting and kind of understand what UX changes would be easier to implement.
We understand their development roadmap, and give them the UX changes for the current parts in development - on priority. The subsequent UX recommendations happen after they’ve finished developing the current feature. If some feature is high priority and difficult to implement, we have a discussion about that and figure out how and when it would be implemented.

So a good approach would be to understand at what stage their development is. Then come up with UX recommendations for the parts they’re working on. The parts that are on the roadmap, but not yet been developed could be dealt with after these priority ones are out of the way.

It is very much an uphill battle, but I’ve found this approach works well.

ciao @jacquidow,

from my point of view this task is 100% a UX cup of tea.
From my experience (and from the ones coming from colleagues) I learned that, not always (for different reasons), you can have a product development process that includes UX topics since the first phases of the project.