Quit my job and get educated?

Hi all,

I’d like some advice.

I’m currently a content designer with a background in web design and trying to transition into a UX design.

I was told at my current company I’d move into a UX role after 6 months providing a senior developer was hired.

We are now in month 8 and still no developer has been hired. The promise of moving to UX will be to work in a team with one UX designer who has been in the company for over 10 years and let’s politely say, he’s a bit stale and not mentor material.

I thought getting the job title would put me in a better position for getting another UX role or at least an interview but I’m now thinking about leaving to study.

I’m lucky enough to be in a position where I can quit my current job (which I’m not happy in) and take out 3/6 months to get educated to hopefully land a UX role in a great team.

My questions are…

Has anyone been in this situation?

What courses would people recommend?
I’m currently taking User Experience (UX): The Ultimate Guide to Usability and UX by DR David Travis on udemy.

Can anyone recommend a decent place to meet a mentor?

Would anyone like to be my mentor? :slight_smile:

Love to hear your thoughts

Thanks
Ross

1 Like

Hey Ross,
Sounds like a frustrating situation to be in, but one that you’re handling well. I think your idea is a good one if you’re feeling unhappy in your current job.

I’m going to call in @Louise and @deprecated because they always have great advice in these situations.

Regarding training, do you have a budget? Bootcamps are costly but the immersion is effective. @jdebari is a good person to talk to about that. We have reviewed some of the most popular ones here.

Regarding mentoring, @maryshaw offers mentoring for a small fee if you have pressing questions, but long term that may not be sustainable. Where are you based? There is a section in finding a mentor in our book – have you read it?