Quarter Life Crisis

Hi!

So I’m 22, going on 45 it feels like (career wise). I graduated college 2 years ago with a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology with an emphasis on behavioral analysis, which I love but had no idea what I wanted as a career. Right out of college I was offered a job at a local county Economic Development Board doing research all on the quantitative and “big data” side. I was at that position a year and I knew it was not something I ever wanted to continue with.

I am a month into a new position doing qualitative research and ethnography’s, which is very interesting to me but I’m just not feeling it yet. Over the past few months I’ve been reading a great deal about user experience and interaction and have completely fallen in love. I have now realized that my ultimate goal is to do something around user experience or web design for major fashion companies.

My question is, how do I make this career shift without investing my life away into debt for graduate programs? Do I have to focus on computer coding, or can it be more graphic based? I have a good deal of experience with Adobe Illustrator, but none with coding. I want the experience and am willing to do what I can to get it. I recently started an online class in web-design with a certificate, but is this enough? Will companies or people even look at my resume and portfolio if they don’t see much experience?

Thanks for any help out there!

Good on you!

I think there are a few things at play here. Firstly, if you want to be a UX designer you don’t need to know how to code, although it can be helpful. We have a pretty comprehensive list of online UX courses here, that you could try your hand at.

Your Illustrator skills will definitely be useful if you want to be a web designer, but for that you will need to know how to code (at least HTML, CSS and Javascript).