Preparing for a UX career while in college

Hi all,
This is my first time posting here. I have just completed the second year of my degree in Applied Psychology (the focus of this is on technology) and have two more to go. I am pretty sure I would like a career in UX. I was just wondering what steps I can take to best position myself for a UX job and make myself stand out to employers once I graduate. It seems tough to carry complete personal UX portfolio projects as gathering data and carrying out research is difficult without resources or help. Should I focus on building visual UI skills for now?

Hey @Mango – welcome!

This is something that we hear quite a bit, so there are a few posts that I can point you to that might help.
Entering the UX world while doing a Masters degree
Some useful information about putting together a portfolio (even if you’re not working in UX)
Some general info about starting out in a UX career
Some helpful info about what it’s like working in UX
Another helpful thread about the same sort of stuff

Have a read through those and if you have more questions as a result, fire away! :slight_smile:

Ah great, thank you very much :slight_smile:

Hi Mango;

I’m in a computer information system (CIS) program right now with the same goal, UX/UA. I have the same questions. Good luck.

Hey James,
Same thing applies - have a read of those articles and I’d be happy to answer any further questions that you have
And welcome on board. :slight_smile:

Welcome, Mango. =)

Studying Applied Psych is going to give you an inroad to the heavy-lifting end of UX, which is both a competitive advantage as well as a funnel towards certain types of work. I personally think it’s a great way to approach UX and wish we had more people with that background.