New to UX, 26 year old, in a small country. How to get started to UX job?

Hi im 26, and deciding to switch careers. i live in small country called Singapore.

I studied Interactive Media Informatics which consist of Web Development, HCI, Graphic Design, Filming, 5 years ago. I use to be an intern in a Web / Digital Agency which creates websites, and also worked as a Developer for an e-learning website for a few months ,after that.

Ive already started signing up online courses, listening to podcasts, and alot of UX articles and trying my best to get a grasp of the UX field. and i really love this field as it fits my personality of always wanting to learn new skills, understanding people, strong in empathy, and i have the eye of problem solving and loving to make things change for the better.

my question is how do i get exposure and build connections/networking/mentors/jobs(without experience) here in my area?

Meetups, conferences, book-clubs etc.

This topic might be helpful.

And welcome! :slight_smile: Great to have you here.

3 Likes

Are you looking for unpaid projects to build your resume?

Yes i would love to, but i dont know whether im ready yet as i just started to learn a few weeks ago. Havent get a good grasp of the terminologies, and not confident yet on which ux research methods to use , with the thought process. @ben2

2 Likes

@HAWK Thank you for the help! Its such a great UX community!

2 Likes

I have just entered a UX school myself @ineffablefelicity , so, first of all, best of luck to you!

Before I ever thought about entering school, I read articles about UX and watched whatever YouTube material I could. In doing so, I started to notice things that I interacted with every day that could use a tweak or improvement. Because of my familiarity with it, I wrote up a document about those fixes to present to the company, if the chance ever occurred, as if I was presenting it to the lead UX or Web Development guy/gal themself.