Looking Someone to Talk Over Transition Into UX

[TABLE=“border: 0, cellpadding: 0, cellspacing: 0”]
[TR]
[TD=“colspan: 1”] My background is in program management, marketing operations, and customer experience consulting where I’ve been passionate about making things easier for customers. I’m looking to translate that passion into the UX field.
Over the last year, I’ve taken UX, HCI & Design Thinking courses, but I’m still having trouble understanding the different types of UX roles and where I might fit in.
So, I’m looking for advice on how to position my transition into UX and get my first position.
Do I need to learn how to code? How can I get my foot in the door?
I’d love any advice I can get.

Thanks!

[/TD]
	[/TR]
 [/TABLE]

I guess one of the questions that I would ask is, is there anything in UX that you think you like or would like to explore more?
For instance, do you really want to know what makes people tick, how they work through things, and get into the nitty gritty of the user. If you really like the thought of that, then more of a research centred approach might be for you. If you like to work through content, how users get to different places, mapping out the path that the users take through a product or website, then information architecture may be more your thing. But then if all/a lot of the areas that UX covers appeal, then you may be looking at being more of what is called a “UX Unicorn”.
I don’t currently have a particular area that I’m interested in, so I’m dipping my toes in a lot of areas, and waiting to see if anything pops out :).

There are a lot of helpful resources on the UX mastery site, and taking courses in those topics is definitely a good place to start! And there are some other helpful tips throughout this forum, including internships or offering your work for free to organisations, to gain experience and work up a portfolio.