Looking for a UX Research Mentor or Advice

Hello the room,

Like many a wise person before me, I’m looking for a mentor in UX Research.

My own story:

I’m 29, from Boston and want to transition into UX research. I’ve done bits and pieces of UX work in most of my roles. I have an undergrad degree in creative writing and masters from in management. My first role was with a startup in product management where I learned wireframing, some user testing, and how to track metrics. Various succeeding roles were as a digital and technical project manager for website and app development.

For the longest time, I pursued product management, which led me to go back for a second Masters in Marketing and Business Analysis. While doing the masters, I fell in love with research during my dissertation and participated in hackathons. I currently do user training and support for a SaaS company, but I’m tired of helping customers work around a product. I want to be a part of understanding a user’s story and building a better product.

I’m now deciding what the best approach is for moving forward that doesn’t involve going back to school. I have worked on projects that I may be able to frame as studies. I’m also working on David Travis’ Udemy course User Experience (UX): The Ultimate Guide to Usability and UX. I’ve had a few recruiters reach out about UX research-oriented PM roles.

I’m looking for a mentor or some advice on next best steps and on whether my current experience could be framed as potential case studies.

I would appreciate any and all advice I can get. I look forward to the day I can pay it forward.

3 Likes

Calling all @UX_Researchers

3 Likes

Learning by doing is the best way to go.

You mentioned next steps and case studies - if your immediate goal is to get a UX job so you can gain that practical experience, I think pulling together some examples of your work is a logical next step.