Looking for a UX mentor

Hi UXers,

I have a few years of experience as a designer, but I want to work on my UX experience and knowledge. There are some areas that I’m quite comfortable with, but there are other areas that I really need to work on.

Any help would be more than welcomed.

Welcome to the community! If you want to let us know a little more about you head over to introduce yourself in the UX Stories section!
Where abouts are you located? and are you looking for a mentor that you can get together in person and chat with or is online alright as well?

Hey ginmau, welcome on board. :slight_smile:
You might find this article to be helpful read. There is a section on mentors.

Hawk mentioned our getting started article, which although you’re not a beginner does indeed contain sound advice on mentoring (there are loads more detail and steps to follow in the ebook).

A few highlights, off the top of my head:

• You should have multiple mentors. You will learn something different from each of them as they’ll each have different strengths and experiences
• You should build relationships with people you respect and trust, rather than putting out a call-out to randoms and hoping that someone will be a good fit. When you have a strong relationship with someone, you’ll not only be in a position to hit them up for advice/guidance, but there will also be networking opportunities that might arise from that contact. And you’re more likely to also be in a position to help them out, with contacts, skills or advice.