Job Application Test

Hello all!

Excuse me if I’m falling in here as a headless chicken, but that is exactly how I feel right now. Now, to make it a bit clearer to any poor person who might read this topic: I need an advice by UX designers.

Here is my problem: I’ve applied for a job at some firm as a web/graphic designer, which I, in fact am, if a little outdated and even a little bad. I still have a lot to learn due to a big pause I’ve had in learning the last 5-6 years. Damn things develop so fast that I felt like a total newbie when I looked at what’s new.

Anyhow, a firm called me for an interview, which I happily went to, only to be asked if I knew anything about working in Balsamiq. I stared blankly at the guy as I’ve never heard about the software before, but hey, it’s not like I know about all softwares out there. I clearly said what I did and didn’t know (never mentioned anything about UI or UX design, actually, said I have no idea about it). The guy asked me if I’d be ready to do a “test” for them. I said “Sure, why not?”, and in a couple of weeks I got an e-mail with a PDF mock-up/wireframe of 3 pages, obviously done in Balsamiq. Again, I stared at it. WTF was I supposed to do with it? Is it a website? An Intranet?? There were menus, icons, some tables… hmm… yes, obviously some work is done there, some dropdowns and searches. Okay, an Intranet with … an app? Do I do a PSD file, a JPEG design or do they need a HTML/CSS coding too? I mean… what??
I got absolutely NO information. Not about what it is, who are, or will be the users, what type of design they expect, what colors they like, how long and what exactly will the users do in there… NOTHING.

So I went by the supposed fact that there is nothing really important and they might want only to see if I can operate Photoshop? Fair enough, I did a fairly ugly, but modern design, based on their company’s existing website. Something between a web app and a website (like I supposed that was).