I Know Nothing... But Want to Know Everything

Hi Everyone!

My name is Kelly, and I’m brand new to these boards. Without giving you a novel of text saying why I’m here, I’ll just throw out some basics:

-I’m currently working full time and going to school full time, just finishing up my general requirements
-I’m turning 25 next year, been in the professional working world of Human Resources since I was 19. I’m currently an HR Manager at a Fortune 500 company
-I live in Seattle, and am tentatively hoping on transferring to the University of Washington for a degree in Human-Centered Design and Engineering
-I am surrounded by opportunity in the technical field, but quite frankly have zero experience in anything

I’m really hoping I won’t get slammed for this, but I really know nothing. I know how much I love web design, even back in the Myspace days using the most basic HTML code was fascinating to me. Every assignment we had in school that required any sort of graphic design I loved. I love research, I love people, I love the way they think and learning how they make their decisions. This and a few chats with some UW professors, UX friends and an HP recruiter lead me to start thinking UX design.

I really hope I don’t sound like an idiot with this. “I totally want to do UX I just have no idea what it entails or what I should know.” I know, it sounds so dumb. I’m really here to see if anyone could offer advice or give me some insight on where to start my UX journey. I know once I start my core classes things will become clearer, but hey maybe I’m just wildly impatient. Are there any resources I can take advantage of to get a head start? Are there any books you would recommend? Podcasts? Articles? Journals to follow? Does anyone have experience across the tech board, maybe web design, data science, research? Really anything anyone could offer would be most welcome.