How to start building your first portfolio when you do not have any experience...?

Hi there!

Hope you all had a good day.

Last year I graduated with a Master’s Degree in Applied Psychology and since then I am interested in working in UX field. I work in recruitment and do not have any experience in UX. I read some books, articles, etc., did some tutorials and I figured out that portfolio almost often is a key to professional UX career. Due to the fact I do not have any experience at all, I still do not know where should I start. I am really motivated to move to that field (not only because of being tired of my current job :D), so I would really appreciate your help.

If someone could tell me:

1. Is it possible to build a good portfolio without working on any professional projects? How should I start?
  2. Do you know any online course related to building your first UX portfolio?
  3. Or maybe do you know someone / are someone who needs an UX intern to help them on some projects?

I would be very grateful if you could help me.

Thanks in advance!

J.

1 Like

Hi @justyna182

To answer your first question - yes it’s easy to start and with UX it’s all about process.

I would suggest reading up on the process of developing a UX design from brief to prototype. This will give you a good platform into understanding what would be required of you from a job perspective.

For example: Brief > Research > Ideation > Feedback > Design > Feedback

As for your portfolio - I would suggest using a simple web builder like squarespace, wordpress or WIX (I’m assuming you haven’t learnt to code yet - so this should ease the pressure off when putting your portfolio together).