How to start a new project?

hey guys,

I’m new in terms of “starting new project” and i would like getting to know how to start a project.
I already been a developer and i know there’s the “requirements gathering” stage but i’m doubtful of who’ll came first in the user-centric project? Whether it’ll be the “requirements gathering” or “user research”.
I know it may sound like bullshit, but i really don’t know getting how to start a project of development.

Sorry for my English, i’m learning yet.

You’re doing great!

Perhaps @dhanasekaruxd could jump in here and give you some advice.

1 Like

But did you tell me for wait (just wait) him to talk to me or should i talk to him?

hi @iversond

according to my experience as a designer, a lot depends on the company setup.

Some questions are popping up to my mind:

• are we talking about a digital or a physical product?
  • is it a brand new product or do we have a legacy with a previous version?
  • With which approach do you deliver your product (es. Agile, Waterfall etc)?

Have a nice weekend :slight_smile:

1 Like

You definitely don’t have to wait. I was tagging him into the conversation. :slight_smile:

Hi there Iverson
When starting a new project no matter the size or the type of product, one of the very first things to do is a bit of a “discovery” phase. I LOVE this phase :slight_smile: It’s all about discovering and understanding the problem you’re trying to solve, the people who will be using your product/service, their experiences with interacting with your product/service and what their needs are. This phase also includes a technology discovery (what systems/platforms your service/product might interact with, run on etc), and a business discovery (what the business processes are, any legislative/policy needs that you might need to meet etc).
If you understand the needs of a user, then it’s a lot easier to write requirements.

Here’s a useful guide that’s aimed at government but has things that you can apply: