How To Progress in The UX Industry

Hi Everyone!

My name is Umar. I am from the UK and I’m a software engineering student (Year 3/4) and have just begun my summer break. I’ve been working in a team setting as lead UX designer for the design of an app(similar to Eventbrite but more localised i.e. giving you a broad view of current events in specific cities geared towards a specific niche) ranging from gathering requirements to focus groups involved in the niche to uncover whether there really is a problem that the app could solve; all the way to creating a working prototype. Even though I can do all this, from start to prototype, I am only a beginner at adobe cc. What should I focus on if I love making wireframes and designing applications and websites?

Also, do you think I can get an internship based on what I have done, and what job roles they could be?
Here is a link to the prototype i have created :
https://umarkhokhar.proto.io/share/?id=7f6ff533-94fb-460c-aed2-85930772a9e3&v=16
Here is the link to my portfolio - https://www.dropbox.com/s/cc23b7izkn3exwf/UX%20Portfolio.docx?dl=0

In addition to this, I have also been reading UX books. One of them being ‘Don’t make me think by Steve Krug.’ I have also been in attendance at one UX meetup so far and plan to attend many more.

I look forward to your replies!

1 Like

Welcome @umarkhokhar_95 – great to have you on board. :slight_smile:

I’d love to hear your take on this @heather_wydeven

@SteveCrow has done some research into tools and what to learn, so he would potentially have an opinion on whether you pursue Adobe CC or consider other avenues.

1 Like