How to land a UX job when most positions are mid-senior level?

Hi, I’ve been lurking here for a while. Just a little bit about myself, I’ve been a front-end developer in NYC for the past ten years and looking to change careers to UX. I’ve taken a UX course as a refresher since I studied digital media college and was exposed to a lot of UX concepts. I have created a portfolio site with sample projects and past work.

I recently started my job search but somewhat discouraged to find that most UX positions are mid-senior level requiring 5-10 years of expereince. I have applied to some anyway just for practice. Other than that it’s not looking good at the moment. What are some good job search strategies for someone like me looking to get their foot in the door?

1 Like

Yay, glad you took the leap of faith and posted. Welcome!

This sounds like a question for the trusty @dougcollins

You should also read this transcript of a career chat that we had with Cory Lebson recently. Also Is going through recruiting a good option for landing an ideal UX role?

This topic also has some sound advice: This job does exist: Persist to find your way in your UX career

hey @ux_dude