How long to find a job for a newbie?

Hi all! I’m completely new to UX, but thinking seriously about taking the UX design course through Career Foundry. My background is in book design and publishing, with a stint in project management working on higher education e-book learning platforms (so I know XML and basics of HTML/CSS), and now I’m working in marketing. I love what I’m reading about UX, and UI to some degree as well. I’ve always been attracted to web design and development, and think that UX would be a good fit for me.
However, for a late 30-something with 2 unrelated degrees, how likely is it that I would take a 6-month course through Career Foundry or similar and be able to get a full-time, decent paying job? Is that totally unrealistic? Would I look at starting out through unpaid internships or the like? I’ve heard you prove yourself through your tangible experience/code/projects, so do you really need to build an extensive portfolio on your own before seeking real employment in the industry?

Thanks in advance for any guidance and suggestions!

1 Like

First off I would encourage you to research here and elsewhere about different UX training providers. I recently graduated from Career Foundry in the UX program and have written my thoughts about the program here on this site (sorry I don’t have a direct link for you)

As you probably know, Career Foundry offers a “get a job you love in 6 months” money back guarantee, I believe some other schools do similar offers. Location is going to matter but having two degrees, some HTML/CSS/SML knowledge and a project management background I say your chances are looking good but yes indeed it’s all about the number and quality of projects you can show in your portfolio and your networking skills. As you are still under 40 I don’t believe age is going to be a factor against you either.