How do I find the first portfolio projects?

Would love to hear your opinions & suggestions please!

Compiling my first UX portfolio - what would be a good way to find my first two or three projects? I want to grow my confidence and learn the process so I can apply for actual paid jobs - what would you recommend? What worked for you to get started?

Background: I’m a mid-senior graphic designer (freelance) moving into UX, with a UX and coding bootcamp courses under my belt. Love the UX design process of investigating what works for the user!

3 Likes

Check out this post for some great advice on building a UX portfolio (including finding projects).

2 Likes

Hi @maxplathan OK I love this question, because the answer is – use exactly the same process as applying for paid work. I know you probably didn’t want to hear that :slight_smile:

I recommend reaching out to online businesses in your area - ones that you have identified that “may” need your services.

As all potential relationships do - it needs handling with care. Building a relationship with a “cold” lead, is all about consistently adding value to that particular person over time.

Here are 3 ways you could get on their radar the smart way:

• Sign up for company email news - if they have any. Engage in conversations they are having online.
  • Thank them for sharing a piece of information that you have used to get results (show him the results). Write a blog post about them and how they have inspired your work.
  • Share their work, and tell your audience why they should check it out.

Extra:

Offer FREE work (perhaps a usability test that you could share the findings of with them) but remember you have limited time so you need to be quite selective about who you offer free work to and what you offer them.

Let me know how it goes, would love to hear more on how you applied the above and any successes you may have had.

Thanks! Louise

3 Likes