Help regarding interviews and user stories

Since I’m going alone in my first UX experience I have a few questions. Better to ask early then be sorry later is my motto, so I apologise if this are naive or stupid questions. But bare with me, I’m a little green newbie.

My stakeholders are also my users. I’m supposed to do a web application for internal use not web site with public access.
I’m planning to do interviews with each of them (five people) as a starting point. What should I pay attention to so I do not lose objectiveness ?
If the business will be successful there will be employees later - need to have their perspective also in mind. How to achieve that?

After the interviews I’m planing to create user stories. That would be a workshop.
[LIST]
[]should I prepare things in advance, since I had the interviews previously and than have a workshop. If yes, what?
[
]how to organize a workshop that is not overkill (too much topics, time or similar)
[/LIST] Any guidance, advice, pointers to further reading would be much appreciated.

The only stupid questions are ones that you don’t ask. :wink: I think it’s smart to clarify things if you’re not sure, so good on you. That’s what this community is for.

Here are a couple of articles that should help with planning the interviews:
How to Improve Your Interview Skills
How to Test an IA
Conducting Stakeholder Interviews

This article is a good one with regard to your question on objectiveness (or bias). I Knew You Were Going to Say That.

It might be useful to read this one about customer journey maps, which could be of use in your project. How to Create Customer Journey Maps.

I’d also recommend participating in our next Ask the UXperts session, which is about using the outcomes of user research to inform design. The session is online and is free. If the time doesn’t work with your timezone, there will be a transcript posted up on uxmastery.com the next day. More info here.