Happy 2017 – what are your learning goals for the year?

Hey fabulous community – I’m back on board after a wonderfully relaxing summer holiday with my family.

How are you all faring so far?

I’m really keen to talk about learning goals. I like the idea of setting ourselves a challenge, and writing it down so that we’re accountable.

My plan is to learn more about analytics (predominantly GA, but also casting my net wider if nec.) I feel like I utilise about 5% of the power that is GA, and was inspired to learn more when I read this:

What’s your learning goal for the year?

3 Likes

Love this thread :slight_smile:

Luckily my personal goal and one of my objectives at work are the same this year - to learn more about accessibility and try to implement it into our software better. This will involve training courses, reading books, and a lot of trial and error! :smiley:

3 Likes

Nice to have you back Hawk,

Since I am a complete newbie to the UX world still in certain respects, my number one goal this year is to learn and become adept with the general ux process and specialities. While figuring out what direction I like the best…since my other serious goal is to go from newbie to working in the field by october…remotely :slight_smile:

I have a pretty keen interest in UI which makes me think I’ll try to become a Sketch guru at some point ha ha…

You all are the best,

Mike

3 Likes

Welcome back, Hawk! Sounds like you had a great time! :slight_smile:

So, I read this article about creating a system. So here’s my system for the first half of 2017:

• Watch / study for UX classes 7 hours / week (avg of 1 hr per day)
  • Finish 1 UX personal project per quarter
  • Finish 1 UX book per quarter
  • Bi-weekly blog progress on both projects and books

I’ve committed to revisiting this in July, to make any adjustments if needed.

So . . . is anyone looking for an accountability partner? :wink:

I look forward to hear what everyone else is up to! Take care! ~ Marie

2 Likes