Graphic designer changing career to become a UI/UX designer! Advice needed!

Hey UX people. I have come to this forum to ask you for some wisdom.

I am a freelance graphic designer by trade, and I am now considering to make the jump to UI/UX design and I am considering applying for a Masters degree in Interaction/HCI design at my local university.

I feel after working in graphic design for nearly 5 years that I am familiar with the creative process, however currently I am lacking front end development skills (something I’m working fixing on in my free time with online courses) but I don’t think I will be completely up to speed with everything by this September when the course begins.

Before I take the costly decision to enroll on the course, could someone please let me know how important it is to have front end development skills on your CV before starting a postgraduate course in Interaction design?

Ultimately I would like to possess front end development skills as I would like to design interactive apps and websites using my pre-existing skills in graphic design, I just feel it might hold me back if I start the course without being totally up to speed with it all!

I’d appreciate your shared thoughts and experiences on this!

Thanks

J

I would contact the faculty and ask to speak to/email someone knowledgeable particularly the course supervisor:

• Have your questions lined up ready to go particularly in areas where you have concerns.
  • They don’t usually want people to fail their courses so they should be able to give you an assessment of what is needed for you to succeed.
  • You could also ask if you can contact someone who has been in the same situation - either currently enrolled or graduated.