General Assembly LA

Hello everyone!
I was hoping someone may have some helpful input on my situation. I don’t know anyone in the UX field personally so I’m here hoping to get some advice from people who are.

First of all, a little bit of background about me: I graduated with a BS in psychology about a year and a half ago. I started to become interested in UX about eight or so months ago and I’m not quite sure how to proceed in order to get into the field.

I was recently accepted into a master’s program for Interactive Design and Media at Philadelphia University, which teaches user experience as part of its curriculum. Here is the link to that program: http://www.philau.edu/msintdesign/

After applying to this program I was turned onto a place called General Assembly in Los Angeles. They offer an immersive 12 week course in user experience design.

I have talked to a few people who have heard good things about GA’s program and say that it is beneficial because they are so well-connected within the LA area that I may have some luck networking my way to a job once I finish the program. My main concern, of course, is being able to get a job after I finish whichever course I choose. Both the master’s program and General Assembly’s program have gotten good reviews and seem like quality programs. However, though the quality of General Assembly has not been disputed, I still can’t find much information on how many people actually get jobs upon completion of this program.

Of course both programs have their pros and cons (GA costs significantly less BUT is not a master’s program. I have heard, however, that the degree does not matter in this field so much as the portfolio. Is this true? I am convinced that both programs will lead me to create a great portfolio.)