Follow up questions for the amazing Heather Wydeven!

If you couldn’t make it to Heather’s session today, or if we ran out of time before your question was answered, you can connect with @heather_wydeven here.

All questions welcome. :slight_smile:

1 Like

I have some other questions for @heather_wydeven .

• Can you give an example of a problem that you solved and your process?

• How do I become a better problem solver?

• How do you determine what research methods to use and the amount of methods for a project? Is research the first thing for a project after the requirements or does it continue even throughout the entire process?

Thanks for your time, appreciate it!

2 Likes

Hello @heather_wydeven , I currently work in the Research Triangle and am in the process of transitioning to a new UX position at one of the plethora of companies located there. My question is how demonstrate design sense when I’m not a trained designer but have worked with creatives for nearly 25 years? I have all the chops for other aspects of a UX position but the question does come up during interviews and I need a way to convey that in a positive sense. Hope that makes sense.

If you’re being asked during interviews about your design experience and to give examples of that, I would think about the work you’ve done working with creatives for all those years. Is there work or projects you can point to that show your design process? Discuss how you applied design thinking to a situation with specific examples and share what you learned and how that helped to shape your design process. Even though I didn’t have any formal UX experience when I interviewed for my apprenticeship, I was able to talk about my design process and demonstrate how I had been thinking like I a UX designer by talking through a specific example where I had done this.

Does this answer your question? :slight_smile:

Thanks for the great questions @ralphc-nyc! :slight_smile: