Feedbacks on Discourse: The power behind this forum

Hi everybody!

I’m a contributor and users of Discourse which is the application that make this forum running.
I believe this Discourse is great and full of interesting funtionallity, even the UI is not so bad.
But, for some reasons, is still quite difficult to use and many features remain undiscovered.
I would like to help there to improve the UX, i have some experience with UX but getting feedbacks from a community of UX experts that use Discourse… is just perfect! :smiley:

I notice that you have done some small but great improvements to the forum like divide static pages, reorganize the hamburger menu content, link people to wherever they can update their nickname…
All stuff that we are currently discussing. Awesome!

I would like to ask you two simple questions:
1. What would be the most important thing you would imporve in Discourse forum app?
2. What do you think badges system in Discourse? (and also more in general)

It would be awesome to hear some opinions!

If someone would like to spend little more time on this, here are two topics that we are discussing now and are in need or more UX experts brains :wink:
making badges more discoverable
header bar improvements

2 Likes

Welcome Giorgia,
I wanted say a quick hi, and acknowledge your post.
It’s Easter so I don’t have the time to commit to a proper answer right now but I’ll come back to it next week. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi Giorgia,
I’m back, as promised.

The initial entry view. Discourse initially presents as a pretty heavy wall of text with very little in the way of funnelling new users into the content/categories/groups that they need in order to connect.

I like the flexibility around adding and customising badges here, but I think that the sheer number of default badges that Discourse supplies out of the box is ridiculous. They lose all value because no one has to work to get them. I’d definitely prefer that badges were switched off by default.