Career prospects for someone in the field of UX without any formal degree?

Hi,

I am trying to change my career path to UX design. I have the following questions. I would be glad if you could answer them so that I could make an informed decision.

1. I am torn between Designlab and CareerFoundry. Which one would you suggest? I would like to explain my situation here. I am a self-taught graphic designer without any formal degree. So, if I go for one of these courses, will that be enough to get me a full-time job either in the UK or Europe?
    I contacted both the institutes, CareerFoundry promptly responded to me. I haven’t had such response from Designlab (only got a generic reply from a bot and fixed my call with an adviser for next week.
  2. Do you have any idea how they support students who are not from the US or Berlin to find a job? I am aware that Designlab has tied up with some companies which are based in the US. I suppose it will be difficult for someone like me to get a job there.
  3. Also, I have a pc. When I asked about the software/application, the CareerFoundtry adviser said that SKetch is for Mac users. Do you think Sketch or other software is more in demand in the UX industry? Should I switch to a mac?
    Before starting the course, what are the software/applications I should be familiar of as there will not be enough time to learn them while learning UX?
  4. And, I want your honest opinion. Will this be easy for someone like me (who does not have a formal degree, I am planning to enroll to an online graphic design degree this year) to get a full-time job in this field if I have a really good portfolio (but no degree)?

I asked too many questions. Hope you would give me some insights :slight_smile:
Thank you.