An architect getting his hands dirty on UX design?

Hello everyone!
Been checking out this community for quite a while but I decided to post here because any advice is good advice, right? :thumbsup:

So, I am an architect who finished school a few months ago. I 've been having some thoughts about the practice of “pure” architecture here (I am from Greece), and I always wanted to expand and apply the principles that I’ve been taught the past years in something more digital.
To cut to the chase, I have to admit that I didn’t know the name of the proffession of the guy who is working behind design of apps and other digital layouts and I somehow thought that coders do all these even though there was always something that didn’t actually fit with that kind of notion. And I was right. It didn’t because UX designers do that!
From the moment I discovered that UX design is actually a thing, I got excited and started thinking of what my first steps should be in order to get me started.

1. First, I downloaded your book Get Started in UX and I am in the process of reading it.
  2. Secondly I completed some free (10 day free account) online seminars from Lynda.com and especially the Career Learning Path called Become a User Experience Designer. I know this doesn’t say much but it seemed like a reasonable place to start.

Now I am searching for my next steps, but there are so many resources and possible directions…

After having stated my first steps,
I would like to pose 2 questions. One is more vague and one more specific and to the point.

1. Do you think that I should pursue a Master’s Degree in UX design more similar field? From what I’ve read so far, UX design has many things in common with architecture in the way of thinking and the way of the whole synthesis procedure. For example this article helped me keep a positive approach on my UX career with my background. What is your opinion about this?

2. UXAlive conference
    Thread split out to here.